jump to navigation

Vote the party that works… April 17, 2010

Posted by malaysianstory in 1Malaysia, Anwar Ibrahim, By Election, Hulu Selangor By Election.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The nomination process for the Hulu Selangor by-election started at 9am in Kuala Kubu Baharu here today and is effectively a fight between BN and PKR despite the existence of two independent candidates.
The BN’s corner has MIC information chief P. Kamalanathan, 44, as its candidate while PKR chose former minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, 59.

The independent candidates are former Hulu Selangor MIC deputy chairman V. S. Chandran, 56, and businessman Johan Mohd Diah, 31.
The voter breakdown in the constituency which has 64,500 voters is 34,020 or 52.7 per cent Malays, 16,964 or 26.3 per cent Chinese, 12,453 or 19.3 per cent Indians and about 1,000 Orang Asli.
From now until the voting day on 25 April, both candidates will pit their strengths to win over voters who are mostly rural folks whose needs are simple and modest.
It would seem that the bulk of the Chinese are for Zaid but the majority of Malays and Indians are more inclined towards BN.
The problem is that Zaid may not the best person to represent the Hulu Selangor constituency as his wealth and lack of understanding of the rural psyche will be glaring. Zaid is more attuned to represent a city constituency. But since Anwar Ibrahim is in need of a successor, Zaid has been hand-picked by the PKR advisor regardless of the protest of Azmin Ali, MP for Gombak and state assemblyman for Bukit Antarabangsa.
At the end of the day, it is up to the voters to decide between the two candidates, and between BN and PKR.
I guess Bakar Arang assemblyman Tan Wei Shu, who sprang a surprise when he resigned from PKR two days ago, has the best advice.
He said “I don’t know how to brag, lie, curry favour or sweet talk. I speak the truth not like some two-faced PKR leaders. I can’t take it any longer. How do you work with such leaders? We are here not to scramble for power.”
Asked if he would become a Barisan-friendly assemblyman, he said: “I will support whoever is right, I will not support whoever is wrong. I will hold on to my promises to the people.”
“I love (Datuk Seri) Anwar Ibrahim but now that I see (Datuk Seri) Najib Tun Razak working, I’m beginning to love him. I love them both. Unlike in the past, the leader now goes down to the ground. I frankly say that I love Anwar but I want a leader who really serves the people.”
“If Najib’s leadership style is appealing to the rakyat, I will also accept him.”
Tan’s statement alone may be enough to prove who has been working and who has not. Perhaps, we should now vote for those who work.

Comments»

1. Mamak - April 18, 2010

Tan Wei Shu is someone that has no integrity. If he is an honest man he should resign his position as wakil rakyat and not cheat the rakyat by hopping. Everyone knows he will lose his deposit if he runs for office again!

2. Malaysian 1st - April 18, 2010

Need to do is to observe and notice the difference between political posturing and real championing of the people’s interests. So, when the time comes, just vote wisely. There is no need to continuously rave and rant!

3. AzamHassan - April 18, 2010

just hope the best win..what BN can do now is tackle all ‘atas pagar’ voters..just like PKR has done on last PRU..and they succeed..

4. Luke - April 19, 2010

I am a person of no party. The only party in my mind is “What’s best for me and my family”.

5. Pakatan - April 22, 2010

Don’t be stupid sitting in your office and write this. If you go to the ground, you’ll see its all for PR!!! I am sure Zaid will win!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

